top of page

Skincare 101 | My Skincare Journey

Updated: Apr 11

I have been struggling with acne for almost four years, and I have tried everything.


Dozens of cleansers, moisturizers, and serums, from high-end to drugstore. There was a time when I thought I would never feel comfortable in my own skin. But! Big but! I have finally narrowed down my skincare staples that some I have been using for about three years, and others, for more than six months.


This is my morning and night skincare routine, written out just as I use them, so a fun little step-by-step Vogue parody.


Last thing, although it works for me, it might or might not work for you, so please keep that in mind.

 

MORNING ☼

Cerave

Very basic cleanser that gets the job done, and does not break me out or leave my skin tight.

 

The Ordinary

Great for oily skin: super lightweight, and absorbent.

 

The Inky list

Despite the fact I have very oily skin, it tends to dry up in the cold weather, so every winter is brutal for my mouth and nose areas. I used this all of winter, and not once did my skin dry up or flake, it truly saved my skin.

 

Cerave

This is so lightweight, it's not oily and always leaves my skin feeling so soft.

 

NIGHT ☽

--------------------------I use the Cerave Cleanser (again)------------------------

The Ordinary

I have been targeting my nose and forehead with this serum, my blackheads seem to be a lot more cleared up, and my forehead texture has been slowly smoothing out.

 

Cerave

Usually, I stay away from dry to normal products, but my skin loves this moisturizer before bed! It leaves my skin soft and hydrated.

 

The Ordinary

I have been using rosehip seed oil for years, and even when my skin was at its worst, this saved my skin. It has completely transformed my scars and pigmentation. Seriously, you need this.


 

Other things that have helped my skin

- Water: I know it sounds annoying, but my skin changes so much depending on my water intake!!

- Stress: Once again, annoying, because sometimes it is inevitable. But my skin tends to break out when I am under a lot of stress rather than when I am not.

- Pillow Cases: Change. Your. Pillow. Cases. Every. Week. I won't lie, I forget about this a lot but when I do get into the routine of changing the fabric that collects and spreads so much bacteria, my skin thanks me for it.

- Remembering it is normal: Don't be ashamed, some people never get to experience the joy of painlessly popping a bright yellow head that you've seen form for a few days. Be kind to yourself, especially for things that are out of your control!

 

I am so blessed to have a routine that works for me, for so long I was ashamed of something so normal. My skincare journey is not over, I know that my skin has so much more progress to go, and I can’t wait to eventually share it with everyone!

27 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page