top of page

How to recycle your summer wardrobe for fall | My Fall Closet Staples

Updated: Apr 11

I can not begin to express how excited I am for fall---warm lattes, chunky sweaters, docs, Halloween. Everything I have been immensely waiting for is finally here.


Early September calls for awkward weather. Some days are 25 degrees and other days are 10 degrees. So transitioning into fall fashion can also be awkward. If you have spent your whole summer finding your summer staples, you are probably struggling with crafting outfits without having to buy a whole new wardrobe.


Well, here is how I reuse my summer wardrobe to add to my fall closet staples!

Denim

Skirts

Denim skirts are making a comeback this year, although many disagree because I think the internet alienated jean shorts from trendy fashion so it implied that all denim must go. I wore denim skirts all summer, and I will be wearing them in the fall.


Think stockings, chunky platforms, a denim skirt, and a white chunky knit sweater. Having a good pair of light, dark, or black denim will become an essential piece for your outfits.

Jeans

It can be challenging to find a great pair of denim, the wash, the size, the length and the quality are all factors we consider when committing to wearing jeans. During summer's colder days, I stuck with my Heidi jeans from Dynamite, flare jeans from Garage, and a pair of TopShop boyfriend denim that I bought last summer. Denim doesn’t have to be associated with only a basic t-shirt. So if you want to spice things up, add a leather jacket, loafers, and a thin knit scarf.

Tops

Baby Tees

Layer! Layer! Layer! Baby tees don’t have to stay back in the spring and summer, use them to their full potential; under an oversized cardigan or under a sweater vest.

Basic Tank Tops

I am obsessed with basic tanks, they are perfect on their own, but also great with layering. You can wear them with cropped fleece zip-ups, denim, bodycon skirts, or trousers.

Dresses

Mini, Midi & Maxi Dresses

Summer doesn’t have to own dresses. They are so interchangeable and a great way to change up an outfit. Dress up a mini or maxi dress paired with a blazer or leather jacket for a night out. Or dress down a maxi dress by throwing on a trench coat for those casual days.

Shoes

Sneakers

Chunky sneakers are an all-year-long essential, they are perfect with everything---dresses, trousers, jeans. There is no pressure to immediately store them away and switch them out for boots.



 

Thank you for reading!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page