top of page

June Fever | My June Favourites

Updated: Apr 11

It is absolutely gut-wrenching to think about winter, especially since more than half the year in Ontario is frozen. But thank god for the warm weather, right?


Summer is here, and I am still adjusting to switching over to more sunscreen, less makeup, less clothes, and pretty much less everything.


The good part though is sharing my June favourites!


I’ve got a fair share of products, clothing, and music that I have been obsessed with over the last couple of weeks, and probably will be for the rest of the summer!


 

Makeup


For the past 2 years, I religiously used the Maybelline Fit Me concealer and foundation. I have tried multiple ‘high brand’ foundations and concealers---Tarte creaseless concealer, Urban Decay, Born This Way Foundation, and I am still a drug store makeup advocate.

The Elf Came Concealer just does it for me. It is extremely lightweight, yet is medium to full coverage, and it blends beautifully onto the skin. Not to mention, it is extremely affordable.

It has always been extremely difficult to find anything that doesn’t weigh down my eyebrows while keeping them in place all day.

The Essence Lash & Brow Gel is a very light, non-flakey, and long-lasting gel. I have tried soap brows, traditional hair gel, eyebrow pencils, and so much more than I can list, and none of them have embraced my natural eyebrows the way this does.

Clothing


This past month has been horribly humid, so I have been trying my best to wear as minimal clothes as possible. Summer fashion can be so challenging because there is less to wear, so your layering and styling options are very minimal, especially when embracing your own style. My general style this summer has been "coconut girl."


Here are my top 3 most-worn pieces this month!!



1. Mini Skirts

Garage, Dynamite, H&M, and with good luck, thrift stores, all have a diverse selection of mini skirts. They are so interchangeable, that you can not go wrong with a basic mini skirts.


2. Collared Shirts

I know every person in the world has these and it is so basic, but collared shirts are staples to half of my outfits. Especially on the days when it is warm but there is a slight breeze. I recently thrifted one in pink and held back on buying four other ones and I regret it to this day.


3. Mini Dresses

Okay, this definitely could be squeezed into with mini skirts but it deserves a spot of its own. Mini dresses are so diverse, there is no limit to what you can do with them. I have been styling them with collared shirts, wearing short-sleeved tops underneath, or even slipping on a midi skirt.

Shoes


I've abused the number of times I could wear these shoes, seriously. They are so incredibly comfortable, I have worn them numerous times around New York and if I could wear them everywhere, I would. I’ve worn them with jeans, skirts, dresses, pants---every single bottom combination you can think of.

Accessories


1. Anklets

I hand-make a lot of my jewelry, and over the last year, I have made a ton of anklets and bracelets. They are so cute to accessorize an outfit, especially if you are wearing bottoms that give your legs a little more attention and are missing something. So go to Michaels, and pick out some fun beads to make accessories for your outfits this summer!


Products


Keeping this short: smells amazing, always somehow a good deal at shoppers, and leaves my skin so soft.

This is also vanilla-scented, so I am sorry for everyone who despises vanilla (aka my mom). Other than the fact that Billie has been my favourite artist for the past five years and my opinion is probably very biased---this is my favourite perfume ever. At first, it can smell very vanilla bean noelly, but when you really smell it a second time, you pick up on all the different notes.


Music


I am not going to go in-depth of all my main artists this month, but I will leave my Spotify just in case you need more great music.


Most listened to artists:

  • Bleachers

- Chinatown

- Stop Making This Hurt

- 45

  • Lorde

- Supercut

-Buzzcut Season

-Perfect Places

  • Bad Bunny

- Otra Atardecer

- Ojitos Lindos

- Un Coco


Podcasts


1. 80/20

I had never genuinely enjoyed podcasts until this year, I used to be an enormous YouTube watcher. Recently, I have discovered that I love listening rather than watching, especially when I have chores to do, or want entertainment without having to commit both my eyes and ears. I have been obsessed with Lily Rakow’s 80/20 podcast, I extremely recommend listening if you love self-care, health and wellness!

 

Thank you for reading!

What were your favourites this month?


コメント


bottom of page