top of page

Best Coffee in Waterloo/Guelph

Updated: Apr 11

You may be here from my last coffee review in the Big Apple.


Here are a few of my favourites from home.


Smile Tiger Coffee

Order: iced oat lavender latte

Taste: This was my first time ordering a latte with anything other than vanilla syrup (as you will notice as you read on) so I was hesitant about how it would taste.

Lavender can be a very bold but calm scent, and as a flavour, I didn't know what to expect. But it was perfect for a latte. It wasn't overpowering at all, extremely subtle, though still has a hint of sweetness!

Atmosphere: This cafe has windows wrapping around the whole building, so there is a lot of light coming through at all times. The shop then feels very open, warm, and welcoming, along with the various options for dining in; 2 seaters, 4 seaters, and couches for any and every type a customer may want.

Overall: ★★★★★

 

Grammys Boutique and Espresso Bar

Order: iced oat vanilla latte

Taste: I would say this has been my favourite local cafe latte, to be fair it is a simple order. But it’s everything I value in a good latte; creamy, subtle sweetness, and most importantly, it needs to be and remain cold!

Atmosphere: My boyfriend and I love trying new coffee but I live in a small town outside of Kitchener, and I mean small, so our local coffee options are very minimal.

Grammy’s doesn’t have any indoor seating, but its small gift shop is adorable to browse when you are waiting for your coffee. It is right by a small lake, and on a small strip with a corner bakery.

Overall:★★★★★

 

Show & Tell Coffee

Order: iced oat vanilla latte

Taste: This latte is extremely similar to Grammy’s, but I think what makes this under 5 stars is the sweetness. I was expecting something sweeter, it was more bitter than I would prefer. That’s why it also feels wrong to rate coffee in general because some may enjoy sweeter coffee and some may enjoy bitter coffee. However, following my expectations for an iced oat vanilla latte, it was slightly under my requirements for a perfect vanilla latte.

Atmosphere: I love the vibe here---chill and hippy are the first words to pop up in my head when I think of this shop. It is a fairly small place with a couple of tables, though it's located in downtown Kitchener, so there are many more places around to sit down with your coffee.

Overall:★★★★☆

 

Lost Aviator Coffee Co.

Order: stick shakerato

Taste: In simple words, it is a shaken espresso but is shaken with your choice of milk, the cup is then drizzled with chocolate syrup, and the coffee is poured in. I was very unsure of this drink when I first saw the chocolate syrup drizzle but it was delicious. It reminded me a lot of the shakerato from Blue Bottle coffee in NYC, it was full, smooth, and sweet.

Atmosphere: My boyfriend and I first saw this place while on our way to downtown Guelph, and we instantly knew we had to go back to try it. The location and building itself give off local LA shop meets jungle---if you have ever watched YOU, you understand what I am getting at. There is a small amount of seating available inside but there is an adorable bench surrounded by plants and looks right into the shop.

Overall:★★★★☆

 

Crushed Almond Bakery Cafe

Order: Turkish coffee

Taste: For context, I am not a big fan of warm drinks, especially traditional black coffee but this is the exception. It’s probably the only hot coffee I will ever enjoy from the first sip right down to the last. I know this is a coffee recommendation, but don’t dare to come here without trying their bakery items!

Atmosphere: This cafe is so personal and beautiful, the owner is so involved with her customers, and you can just admire the love she has put into this space. It’s fairly small, with a few tables, and a generous amount of traditional Turkish merchandise!

Overall:★★★★☆

 

Baden Coffee Company

Order: Iced Oat Vanilla Latte

Taste: This is my second favourite drink from this coffee shop, asides from the most amazing iced chai tea latte I have ever had, this latte is not half as bad. I think what is stopping me from rating this 4 stars is the oat milk that is used, it is a tad grainy, and I am normally for a smooth barista edition oat milk.

Atmosphere: Baden Coffee Company is a ‘barn style’ coffee shop, with a surprisingly numerous available seating both indoors and outdoors! I have only come here during the summer, but I can picture it being a perfect cozy shop for fall, with the warm red walls, yellow lights, and low ceilings.

Overall:★★★☆☆

 

The Common Cafe

Order: iced oat vanilla latte

Taste: This latte was made simple; espresso, milk, syrup and ice, and I finished it fast! I did only get 2 pumps of syrup, so it was under-sweetened at my own fault, but it was a great latte.

Atmosphere: This cafe greets you with a minimalist welcome---an open space with a simple coffee counter, all-white painted walls, and delicately picked vintage tables and chairs. It is very unique to its own style and what it wants to express to customers; this is only a coffee shop.

Overall:★★★☆☆


 

I hope this helped out all the coffee lovers in narrowing down the best coffee in town.


Thank you for reading!

25 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page